Safety from legal responsibility Those who make their home in New York are required to have insurance that protects them in the event of damage to their property or injury to others. Property damage insurance can shield your finances in the event that you are found legally liable for an accident that is covered by the policy. If you cause damage to another person’s property or vehicle, you will be compensated for those losses. Bodily injury insurance safeguards your financial stability by covering medical bills and other expenses incurred as a result of being held legally responsible for an accident that is covered by the policy. Personal injury protection (PIP) is insurance that may reimburse an injured person for financial losses such as lost wages, medical expenses, and the cost of necessary services (i.e. passengers or pedestrians). No-fault insurance In the state of New York, no-fault insurance is obligatory. If you are involved in a car accident, no-fault insurance will cover your medical expenses, lost wages from time off work, and, if necessary, your funeral costs. No matter who was at fault for the accident, no-fault insurance will cover the expenses. There is no protection for your vehicle, though. Rules for New York’s Teen Drivers Teenagers are impatiently awaiting their first driving experience because of the freedom it represents. For the sake of everyone’s safety on the road, it’s vital to learn the ins and outs of New York’s recent driver laws. At the age of 16, a child can apply for a learner’s permit in both New York State and the five boroughs of New York City, though the application process may vary slightly depending on the municipality. After six months of holding a learner’s permit, teenagers can apply for a junior driver’s license; at age 17, they can apply for a full driver’s license. State requirements for auto insurance in New York depend on the type of coverage purchased. Responsibility for physical harm Assists in paying for the medical bills, funeral costs, and other damages incurred by the victim of an accident that you caused. Limits of $25,000 per person and $70,000 per incident Consequences of negligence in regard to property Pays for repairs to the other party’s vehicle, house, or other structure if the accident was your fault. $10,000 limit Driver without insurance If you’re in an accident and the other driver doesn’t have insurance, this can help pay for your medical care. Two-Half a Million Dollars Total ($25,000 Individual, $50,000 Total) Auto accident victim who has insufficient insurance If you’re in an accident and the other driver doesn’t have enough liability insurance to pay for your medical care, this policy can help. Combined with the uninsured motorist protection Protection from financial ruin in the event of a personal injury It helps pay for medical care or a funeral if you or your passengers are hurt in an accident. $50,000 limit Coverage for collision helps pay for damage to your car, whether you drive it or not. Not necessary Theft, natural disasters, and acts of vandalism are all covered by full coverage auto insurance. The absence of necessity CAR INSURANCE REBATES IN NEW YORK You can find out what discounts apply to your policy by requesting a quote online or talking to a local agent. You may be eligible for the following auto insurance discounts, which could significantly reduce your monthly premium: MULTI-POLICY When you insure your vehicles, belongings, and transportation needs with The Kinney Agency, you can also insure your home, renters, boat, and additional vehicles under one policy. The Kinney Agency provides property insurance, which could reduce your stress and save you money. Program for Smarter Driving (SMARTRIDEĀ®) Safe driving is rewarded in SmartRide. When you sign up right now, you’ll receive an immediate discount. The better driver you are, the lower your premiums could be. PROMISE AS A STUDENT Full-time students between the ages of 16 and 24 who maintain a B average or higher are eligible for a student discount with the majority of auto insurance companies. SAFE DRIVER PROCEDURES Senior drivers who have successfully completed a state-approved defensive driving course are eligible for a discount. ANTI-THEFT You could save money by installing an anti-theft device in your vehicle. The amount saved is contingent on the appliance being replaced. Sometimes it’s necessary to show proof that the gadget was actually put in place. A RELATIVELY SAFE DRIVER Keeping your driving record spotless is crucial. At least five years of accident-free driving may qualify you for a safe driver discount. BILLS PAID ON AUTOPILOT Get a one-time rebate if you enroll in automatic monthly bill payment from your checking or savings account. NOT A SINGLE INCIDENT You may be eligible for a discount of up to 10% on your monthly premium if you do not have any traffic violations or accidents on your driving record.